Megadeth – Rust in Peace

Rust in Peace is the fourth studio album by American heavy metal band Megadeth, released by Capitol Records on September 24, 1990. It was Megadeth’s debut album with lead guitarist Marty Friedman and drummer Nick Menza. As singles, “Hangar 18” and “Holy Wars… The Punishment Due” were released. In 2004, a remixed and remastered version of the album with four extra tracks was released.

Rust in Peace has frequently been recognized as one of the top thrash metal albums of all time since its debut.


Multiple lyrical topics are featured on the album, including religion, politics, and warfare, as well as Mustaine’s personal concerns, such as his battle with drug and alcohol addiction, UFO conspiracy theories, and even the Marvel Comics character Punisher.

The opening song, “Holy Wars… The Punishment Due” draws its thematic inspiration from the Northern Ireland war, in which the predominantly Catholic nationalist population clashed with the predominantly Protestant loyalist society over control of the six counties of Northern Ireland.


Side one

  1. “Holy Wars… The Punishment Due” 6:36
  2. “Hangar 18” Nick Menza[64] 5:14
  3. “Take No Prisoners” 3:28
  4. “Five Magics” 5:42

Side two

  1. “Poison Was the Cure” 2:58
  2. “Lucretia” Mustaine, David Ellefson 3:58
  3. “Tornado of Souls” Mustaine, Ellefson 5:22
  4. “Dawn Patrol” Ellefson 1:50
  5. “Rust in Peace… Polaris” (5:44 on remaster) 5:36