• Home
  • Album
  • Iron Maiden – The Number of the Beast

Iron Maiden – The Number of the Beast

English heavy metal band Iron Maiden’s third studio album is titled The Number of the Beast. On March 22, 1982, Harvest and Capitol Records released it in the United States and EMI Records released it in the United Kingdom. Their final album with drummer Clive Burr and their first album with vocalist Bruce Dickinson.

Cover Art

It was painted by Derek Riggs, who also did all of Iron Maiden’s album art between the 1980s and the beginning of the 1990s. The cover was first made for the song “Purgatory,” but manager Rod Smallwood chose to keep it for The Number of the Beast because he thought it was too good for a single release. The backdrop of the album’s original 1982 artwork has a blue sky, which was mistakenly printed on the cover and changed to black when the record was remastered for compact disc in 1998.


Side One

  1. “Invaders” 3:20
  2. “Children of the Damned” 4:34
  3. “The Prisoner” 5:34
  4. “22 Acacia Avenue” 6:34

Side Two

  1. “The Number of the Beast” 4:25
  2. “Run to the Hills” 3:50
  3. “Gangland” 3:46
  4. “Hallowed Be Thy Name” 7:08